Home Orient Media Donations Contact Us


We greet you and are interested in furthering your education of Freemasonry.

The Order is organized as follows:

Scottish Rite Masonry originated in several different traditions of “higher degrees” of Masonry, some from England, some from Scotland (or purported to be from Scotland,) some from France, some from other parts of Europe.

The formation of the Mother Supreme Council of Scottish Rite occurred in Charleston, South Carolina, in May 1801. The Founding Fathers of the Scottish Rite who attended included: John Mitchell the first Grand Commander of the Supreme Council; Frederick Dalcho; Dr. Isaac Auld; Alexander Francois Auguste de Grasse Tilly; Jean Baptiste Marie de La Hogue; Thomas Bartholemew Bowen; Abraham Alexander; Emanuel de la Motta; Isaac Auld; Israel de Lieben; Moses Clava Levy; James Moultrie; Isaac De Costa.  All regular Scottish Rite bodies today derive their heritage from the Supreme Council formed by these gentlemen and perpetuated through the present day.

The official name of the Order is “The Supreme Council (Mother Council of the World) of the Inspectors General Knights Commander of the House of the Temple of Solomon of the Thirty-third Degree of the Ancient and Accepted Scottish Rite of Freemasonry of the Southern Jurisdiction of the United States of America.”

The head of the organization is the “Sovereign Grand Commander.” The current Sovereign Grand Commander is Illustrious Sir Ronald A. Seale, 33°.  He is based in Washington, DC.

The Southern Jurisdiction of the Scottish Rite is made up of jurisdictions called “Orients” which are generally states.  The Supreme Council is made up of 33 members, including the Sovereign Grand Commander and 32 leaders of Orients known as “Sovereign Grand Inspectors General” or SGIG’s.  The Southern Jurisdiction has more than 32 Orients and the leaders of Orients not headed by an SGIG are known as a “Deputy to the Supreme Council.”  

The “Orient of South Dakota” is currently led by Illustrious Sir Jeffrey Larson 33°, Sovereign Grand Inspector General.

The Orient of South Dakota, consists of four Valleys; Aberdeen, Deadwood, Deadwood, and Yankton. Each Valley conducts its own business and is guided by the S.G.I.G. or Deputy.   There are Valley Representatives to the S.G.I.G. or Deputy within each Valley, and their job is to “protect” the S.G.I.G./Deputy and act as a Liaison between the two.  Each Valley has two Representatives and the Orient as a whole has one Representative.  The current Orient Representative is Illustrious Sir Harland Danielsen 33°, of the Deadwood Valley.

The Deadwood Valley has four Bodies in its Valley:  The Lodge of Perfection (the 4th – 14th Degrees), The Chapter of Rose Croix (15th – 18th Degrees), The Council of Kadosh (19th – 30th Degrees), and the Consistory (31st and 32nd Degrees.)  Each has its own set of Officers, and is responsible for certain functions.  The Lodge of Perfection, by agreement, is the governing Body to conduct the business of the Valley of Deadwood, and it is led by a “Venerable Master.”  Each Body has an emblem as shown below:

Lodge of Perfection       Chapter Rose Croix          Council of Kadosh              Consistory

Deadwood Valley Home Deadwood Order and Officers Deadwood Info Rapid City Rite Care Clinic Deadwood Forum

2019 Deadwood Valley Officers

Sovereign Grand Inspector General in South Dakota

Jeff Larson, 33°

Orient Representative - Harland Danielsen, 33°


Lodge of Perfection

Mike Rodman, 33° - Venerable Master

Lon Carrier, 32° KCCH - Senior Warden

Harold Ireland, 32° - Junior Warden


Chapter of Rose Croix

Lon Carrier, 32° KCCH - Wise Master

Steve Shannon, 32° - Senior Warden

Yancey Smith, 33° - Junior Warden

Council of Kadosh

John Hughes, 33° - Commander

Black Hills Scottish Rite

Robert Tesch - 32° - General Secretary

John Sweaney, 33° - Minister of State